Adam Peaty leads the charge in 30 strong British team for FINA World Champs

AdamPeatyBreaststroke World Record breaker Adam Peaty leads a 30-strong British Swimming team at this summer’s FINA World Championships in Kazan.

Other members of the Great Britain squad include Jazz Carlin, Hannah Miley and Fran Halsall.

Olympic silver medallist Michael Jamieson is the highest-profile omission, but he wouldn’t have expected more after a disappointing sixth-place in the 200m breaststroke trials last week.

Following last year’s record-breaking European Championships, British Swimming set a tough selection criteria for the World Championships, with qualification times based within 1-3% of the fastest swims recorded globally during 2014.

Only eight Britons qualified outright. However, another 16 additional swimmers were selected after recording times within 2% of the selection standard and five swimmers who missed the second standard, including backstroke specialist Liam Tancock, were handed an additional reprieve by selectors.

British Swimming Head Coach Bill Furniss was pleased with what he saw at the British Championships. “It was a tough week but we saw some very good performances as both athletes and coaches rose to the challenge,” said Furniss.

While recognising performances in London, Furniss has encouraged the team to take the next step up towards the World Championships where the task will be greater.

“The challenge for everyone is to move our performances on between now and the summer,” said Furniss. “Athletes have done a good job to make the team but our primary focus is to improve performances in the summer and we will leave no stone unturned in pursuit of this.”

The World Championships in Kazan will be the first for City of Derby’s Adam Peaty and follows a remarkable breakthrough year for the Breaststroke swimmer who recently broke the 100m Breaststroke World Record, becoming the first person to swim the event in sub 58 seconds.

“I’m excited and proud to make my first full, world championship team and to represent my country in one of the biggest international arenas,” Peaty told The BBC.

“I was pleased with my performances to make the team but you can’t stop there. I know there are improvements I can still make and these are what I will be working on as I focus on the World Championships.

“Last year I spent my time hunting down swimmers who were faster than me. This time I’m the one that others will be targeting so I need to work harder than ever before to make sure that doesn’t happen.”

“That swim wasn’t the fastest I could ever go and I know there’s more to come in Kazan,” added  Peaty.

“I’m only 20 and still quite inexperienced as I’ve never been to a Worlds or an Olympics, but I can handle the pressure.”

The British Swimming Team comprises:

The athletes below gained selection after they won their event and achieved the qualification standard:

James Guy – Millfield
Chris Walker-Hebborn – NC Bath
Adam Peaty – City of Derby
Roberto Pavoni – NC Loughborough
Jazz Carlin – NC Bath
Siobhan-Marie O’Connor – NC Bath
Hannah Miley – Garioch
Elizabeth Simmonds – NC Bath

The athletes below gained selection after they achieved a time within 2% of the set benchmark time included within the policy (individual and relay).

Thomas Laxton – Loughborough University
Calum Jarvis – NC Bath
Ross Murdoch – University of Stirling
Robbie Renwick – University of Stirling
Nick Grainger – City of Sheffield
Andrew Willis – NC Bath
Aimee Willmott – London Aquatic Centre PP
Eleanor Faulkner – City of Sheffield
Rebecca Turner – City of Sheffield
Sophie Taylor – London Aquatic Centre PP
Rachael Kelly – NC Loughborough
Francesca Halsall – NC Loughborough
Ben Proud – Plymouth Leander
Duncan Scott – University of Stirling
Lauren Quigley – Stockport Metro
Stephen Milne – Perth City
Dan Wallace – Warrender

The athletes above gained selection at the discretion of the British Head Coach and National Performance Director.

Liam Tancock – NC Loughborough
Adam Barrett – NC Loughborough
Jessica Thielmann – University of Florida
Molly Renshaw – NC Loughborough
Jemma Lowe – NC Bath

Coaches selected to the British Team for the World Championships are:

Russ Barber – City of Sheffield, Jol Finck – Millfield, James Gibson – NC Loughborough, Ben Higson – University of Sterling, Mel Marshall – City of Derby, David McNulty – NC Bath